Les Cahiers de muséologie

2406-7202 2953-1233


The Cahiers de Muséologie are born from the observation that there are currently few scientific museology periodicals in French and that young graduates encounter difficulties in publishing, in particular articles taken from their work. The University of Liège's Museology Department has therefore set itself the objective of filling this gap and offering the possibility, both to students and young graduates as well as to seasoned researchers and teachers, to publish texts dealing with Museology. in a freer format, reducing the usual constraints of journals. The various sections of the Notebooks are therefore open to museum professionals or practitioners in the field of museography, conservation, museum mediation, etc.

Developed only in digital form, this open access publication is hosted on the publication portal for scientific periodicals of the University of Liège (PoPuPS), which gives it great visibility and interoperability with international networks. The online journal is listed with an ISSN number.

This publication does not specialize in any particular category of museum; it concerns Museology in the broad sense (a set of scientific disciplines which converge when the object of their research concerns the museum, the relationship between society and its heritage, the processes of musealization). The editorial line of these Notebooks is oriented towards scientific contributions that offer original and innovative reflections in the field of Museology. The orientation is scientific, favoring analysis and interdisciplinary reflection, which does not preclude case studies, practical applications or concrete proposals, quite the contrary.

The previous format of these Cahiers provided an independent publication of each text. At this moment of "refoundation" of the journal, after a pause and transition, we have brought together the various texts already published in a "zero" number with the idea of organizing annual numbers including at least one text from each section, to know:

  Articles: scientific articles, submitted to the International Review Committee according to the double blind peer review system.

In addition to these articles, which constitute the heart of the online journal, are the following headings:

• Carnets de visite: reviews of museums and exhibitions (temporary and permanent), which can discuss an institution as a whole or some of its aspects (exhibitions, architecture, scientific mission, cultural activities, etc.). The publication of these Notebooks gives researchers access to information (in particular images) concerning exhibitions or activities which no longer take place.

• Notes de lecture: critical reviews of scientific books and periodicals, print or online publications. The Notes also take an interest, where appropriate, in publications aimed at the general public, or even in works of fiction which depict the museum universe.

  Dans la marge: texts with a freer tone, which allow their authors to express themselves on a topical subject, possibly controversial, and to provoke or take a position in a debate. This section also leaves room for the expression of "hors-piste" reflections, carte blanche, interviews with sometimes existential, sometimes anecdotal considerations as well as the dissemination of reference documents for the museum field.


Service de Muséologie

Université de Liège

Quai Roosevelt, 1B

4000 Liège - Belgique



Editor-in-chief :

 Nicolas Navarro (Nicolas.Navarro@uliege.be)


Kim Cappart

Ana Swartz Paredes 

Elina Noris

Editorial Assistant:

Alix Nyssen

Editorial Committee:

Nicolas Navarro, Kim Cappart, Alix Nyssen, Edouard Nzoyihera, Ana Swartz Paredes, Jean-Louis Postula, Noémie Drouguet, André Gob, Mélanie Cornélis, Pierre-Jean Foulon, Pascal Lefèbvre, Thomas Briamont, Sébastien Pierre, Océane Mest, Floriane Paquay, Camille Hoffsummer, Mégane Fassin, Elina Noris et Zélie Blampain.

International reading committee:

Jean Tiago Baptista (Université Fédérale de Goiás, Brésil)

Yves Bergeron (UQAM, Montréal, Canada) 

Nathalie Bondil (Institut du monde arabe, France)

Thierry Bonnot (EHESS, France)

Isabelle Brianso (Université d'Avignon / UMR Centre Norbert Elias, France)

Bruno Brulon (UNIRIO, Rio de Janeiro, Brésil - ICOFOM)

Cristina Bruno (Université de São Paulo, Brésil)

Yun Shun Susie Chung (Southern New Hampshire University, USA) 

Michel Colardelle (Conservateur du Patrimoine honoraire, France)

Gaëlle Crenn (Université de Lorraine, France) 

Jean Davallon (Professeur honoraire, Université d'Avignon et des Pays du Vaucluse, France) 

Octave Debary (Université Paris Descartes, France) 

Michel Draguet (Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts et Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgique) 

Philippe Englebert (Musée royal de Mariemont, Belgique)

Guido Fackler  (Université de Würzburg, Allemagne)

Emilie Flon (Université Pierre-Mendès-France, Grenoble, France)

Melissa Forstrom (State University of New York, USA)

Amareswar Galla (UNESCO Chair on Inclusive Museums & Sustainable Heritage Development, Anant National University, India)

Nicole Gesché-Koning (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgique) 

André Gob (Université de Liège, Belgique) 

Geoffrey Grandjean (Université de Liège, Belgique)

Aude Hendrick (Musée des Égouts de la Ville de Bruxelles, Belgique)

Marie-Paule Jungblut (Université de Luxembourg, Luxembourg)

Joëlle Le Marec (Université Paris-Diderot, France)

Anna Leshchenko (ICOFOM)

François Mairesse (Université Paris 3, France) 

Christian Michel (Aquarium-Muséum, Université de Liège, Belgique) 

Raymond Montpetit (Professeur honoraire, UQAM, Montréal, Canada)

Adriana Mortara Almeida (Université Fédérale de Minas Gerais, Brésil)

Mário Moutinho (Université Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias, Portugal) 

Placide Mumbembele Sanger (Université de Kinshasa et Institut des Musées Nationaux du Congo)

Nathalie Nyst (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgique) 

Giusy Pappalardo (Université de Catania, Italie) 

Dominique Poulot (Université Paris I Sorbonne, France)

Mike Robinson (Université de Birmingham, Ironbridge International Institute for Cultural Heritage, Angleterre)

Mélanie Roustan (Muséum d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, France) 

Martin Schaerer (ICOM)

Philippe Tomsin (Université de Liège, Belgique) 

Peter Van Mensch (ICOM)

Olga Van Oost (FARO, Bruxelles, Belgique)

Ximena Varela (American University, USA) 

Richard Veymiers (Musée Royal de Mariemont et Université de Liège, Belgique)

Matthieu Viau-Courville (Ocim, Université de Bourgogne/MESR, France)

Boris Wastiau (Fondation Alimentarium, Suisse)